Fake Truck Ad on Craigslist


My name is Janice , and I’m emailing you about 1996 Peterbilt Ext Hood with an diesel engine, manual transmission and 750.155 miles. Never had or need any paint/body work done, garaged keep always, without any mechanical problems, tires and wheels are in great shape as well, electric is working perfectly. The engine 425 hp gas, runs very good and the manual transmission works perfectly. Has a clean and clear US title in my name and there are no liens or loans on it. This Peterbilt was used by my husband who died 4 month ago. The price was reduced at $1.800 because I’m in a hurry to find a buyer. I need to sell it before the 15 of the next month, when I will be leaving on military duty with my medical team out of the country for a year and do not want to store it. Hate to sell it but its not worth keeping insurance and paying storage fees for a year. If you interested i can send you more pics.


“Janice Chandler” never sent any pics!!

Rebecca Taylor/Lamont Bouchard eBay scam

A seller going by the name of Rebecca Taylor said she had a John Deere Garden Tractor for sale. She then said she had set up the sale with Ebay and shortly there after I received an invoice with instructions on how to do a wire transfer. Posted on the bill was a “verified agent” that went by the name of Lamont Bouchard in Bloomer, Wisconsin. I wired the money using Walmart2Walmart money transfer service. I got e-mails from Ebay and Ms Taylor both and that the tractor would be shipped in about 3 days. The following day, I received another e-mail from both parties stating that shipping insurance needed to be purchased by me and that upon arrival the money would be returned to me. I then called Ebay customer service and they told me that I had been the victim of a scam.

Inspired to take some action —

Sorry admin if not appropriate for your forum please remove… or edit as you feel appropriate.

I was inspired to create a chrome extension to allow people to better identify scam advertisements based on emails present, phone numbers used, images found and reported already, and whether other users of the extension reported the advertisement as fraudulent.

This has resulted in several thousand ad’s being identified, ~700 fake scam email addresses, 300 scam phone numbers being identified, and ~108 fake escrow websites being shutdown.

I have been amazed at the lack of responsiveness from gmail, godaddy, and some other companies whose policies allow these bad players to thrive.

The chrome extension I created is free to use for anyone and there is no profit anticipated in this, just trying to make the internet a safer place.

I was hoping that you might find some interest in the results and the ability to help warn people when patterns are observed. Would love some help in getting this out there and think it is the WAZE of craigslist.

The website is: https://www.scamstomper.com/ where you can see up to the minute stats on what has been identified.

The chrome extension can be found in the google chrome web store by searching for scam stomper, and you can see in the phots that is shows details about ad’s being used. Might be able to also have it feed some of your results.


Please let me know if this might be of interest to you

Best regards,

2007 GMC Yukon XL for sale SCAM

I sent a text message about a car for sale on Craigslist Atlanta. I texted 678-753-2842. The reply came from 520-477-2899. They wanted me to pay through Ebay and sent what looked like a legit Ebay invoice. The phone number was forwarded to overseas and wanted you to pay them. They claimed they would send you the car after payment and that it was at Ebay’s storage facility (no such place)

The emails came from [email protected] and from [email protected]> via reagan.com. There was also a reply to email of [email protected]

The ad is still up on Atlanta Craigslist:

Susan Wagner is scamming

Phone Number to watch out for (801)876-7192 She is selling a 2004 Toyota Camry XLE. “Thanks for contacted me about my 2004 Toyota Camry XLE.I wanna be short and tell you some words about it.It has a clean title under my name, i am the single owner and the car is in perfect working conditions without any damage,no dings,no accidents,no liens or loans(is ready to go with a clean title).It was always well kept with no pets or smoke in.I need to sell it asap at this price of $1000 because at this moment i am in the hospital with my son.My son(14 years) was hit by a drunk driver when he comes out of school.He will go through a surgery in 2-3 days and after that i will need money for treatment and pills.Anyway i don’t wanna bother you with my story.I already made a contract with eBay so they can sell this car for me since i can’t handle this myself these days and don’t have anyone close to do it for me.The transaction will be 100% safe and insured by eBay and the sale will be faster the whole process will take 24-36 hours.Also you don’t need to pay any other fees,just the price of the car.If interested to know the rest of process just send me an email back!” She claims this is why it’s so cheap. Here is the scam, “The process through eBay will be a fast one since the car is now at their shipping company with the title , papers and everything ready to be delivered to the potential buyer address.I already paid them a small fee for this and both me and you will be covered by their company.They will bring the car to your address so you can inspect it for 5 days and ONLY after that 5 days of inspection you will decide if want to keep the car or not!If you agree to keep it you will sign the papers with them and they will release the money to me, if NOT they will take back the car and you will get a full refund of money, please keep in mind that you don’t have to pay any fees!So if you want to get the deal started just reply back to me with buyer full name, shipping address and a phone # so i can forward them to eBay and they will contact you to explain the payment options and shipping details!The car will coming from Moab UT”. Don’t let her fool you!

Jeffery Heffner Lynn

Jeffery Heffner Lynn, Hangout ID Heffner Jeffery, Email address [email protected], Home address given: 1359 Sandy Ridge Rd. Cana VA USA. Phone number given: 678-915-8836 (this is a GA land line according to an Internet search). DOB given: 9-9-1970 and 11-22-70. Says he worked in the resort industry and then switched it up to construction, 1 daughter age 21 or 25 (his story changed). Lived in GA when we started talking and must have forgotten he told me that and said he lived in TX and then forgot about that and said he lived in VA. He recently said he was going to Columbia for business and once he was there, he ran out of money so his company is going to send him $5000.00 but his bank accounts don’t work in Columbia so he wants me to have his company send the money to me and then I am suppose to send it to him via money gram or western union. The ID card he sent, to verify his identity, has the same ID number as a little old lady in VA and an African-American baby girl (found online as samples of VA ID cards) and is clearly and poorly altered. The company he says he works for, KBR Inc., is in TX but the contact number for the person sending the money is a cell number in GA. He lies more then Trump!

Scammer Alert

From email: [email protected]
My name is Elizabeth Clayton and I’m emailing you regarding the 2008 Nissan Altima SE that I have for sale. It is in perfect condition, with no need for any additional repairs. Flawless exterior condition, no scratches and no dents. It has never been involved in an accident. The interior is in excellent condition. I have a Clear Title. Great mileage: 115.916, Engine: V6 3.5L and the automatic transmission shifts perfectly. The last price for the vehicle is $1,600 (including delivery and handling to your address).
I’m selling this car because my child of only 26 years died 4 months ago in a bike accident, this was my son’s car and it brings me bad memories.
Me and my husband travel a lot with our business and we want to make this deal through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program, so if you’re interested in purchasing the vehicle just reply me your full name, full address and phone number, so I can notify eBay Motors. Once that is done, they will contact you in the next hours to explain the entire procedure.

God Bless you and your family!