Recent Craigslist auto scams
ambercox88@gmail.com – 2003 Audi A4
bsharon37@gmail.com – 2004 Mitsubishi Galant
chris49viz@gmail.com - 2002 Nissan Maxima
CL reply - 2000 Toyota Land Cruiser
CL reply - 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee
claudia33hudson@gmail.com - 2006 Honda Accord EX
cynthia43camacho@gmail.com - 2003 VW Jetta
davidctr.c63@gmail.com - 2003 Ford Explorer
dvis.jen@gmail.com - 2005 Nissan Altima
franck.gordon9@gmail.com – 2003 Land Rover Range Rover
lynda.giffords@gmail.com - 2007 Chevrolet Tahoe (black)
maria00campbell@gmail.com - 2001 Ford F250 7.3L Powerstroke
parker.daniel192@gmail.com - 2005 GMC Yukon Denali
sarah77brueck@gmail.com - 2004 Nissan Murano
I’m seeing more scam activity in the “For sale by owner” section now, instead of just in the “dealer” section, and a lot of it is less noticeable – plain ads, no big pictures, and using CL’s anonymous reply. So please be careful when you’re replying to these ads. If the price is way too low there will be a reason:
- something wrong with the vehicle – really high mileage, major work needed, it’s been in an accident
- a typo in the price of the ad (maybe the seller didn’t put enough 0s in the price)
- the seller is scamming
If you’re not sure if the price is reasonable go to Kelley Blue Book’s site and check. You should be able to find a price there.
Scam reported at FightTheScams.com
route5north says:
Concerning “sarah77brueck@gmail.com – 2004 Nissan Murano”: I received an email from cl saying “Your posting has been flagged for removal”, when I never posted in the first place.
Apparently, they used my email address to post their scam:
Date:2011-10-02 07:39:48
PostID:2628380483
Title:(cars & trucks – by dealer) •°•2004 Nissan Murano SL AW°•°
October 2nd, 2011 at 11:23 am
Corey says:
Now is a good opportunity to change your email account password.
October 2nd, 2011 at 11:26 am
zapmanj says:
They just keep on keeping on… Now they are scamming on CARS.com….. this time a 1995 dodge ram but picture and listing states 2003 dodge ram. seller name: walterzanga
October 9th, 2011 at 7:31 pm
DisgustedInDenver says:
Yes – someone else here posted about a scam there, last week or the week before. I can’t remember the vehicle now but the post had the Cars.com URL in it so I checked it out. Their site does have a way to report ads so I did that, with a note saying it was a scam. Then I gave them the link to the post here so they could read the message from the scammer. They had my email address and the next day they sent me a message saying they’d removed the ad. I was really impressed with how quickly they acted. So if you see anything there please let them know, and include a copy of the message you got. They do take this very seriously.
October 10th, 2011 at 12:05 am