Amazon Payments scam
This is a new one to me and I think it’s worth a separate post just because of how elaborate it is.
There is a post here on Fightthescams about a vehicle on Craigslist Montreal. The message from the “seller” included a link to a site that was supposedly for Amazon Payments. I just checked out that link and was amazed at what was included there – amazed and disgusted actually (living up to my name here) at the trouble these scammers went to. The page at that URL is full of logos for legitimate services like Craigslist, eBay, AutoTrader, Cars.com – and of course it has the Amazon Payments logo right at the top. Also near the top are links to other supposed pages on this “site” – pages explaining how it works, how to pay, etc. It all looks very legitimate. But it isn’t.
The first thing I noticed about the URL included in the original scam message is that it isn’t related to Amazon.com at all – instead, it begins with sites.google.com, which I understand is a free site Google offers to its account holders (which I found out by going to the main page). The links at the top, which say things like “How It Works,” “Payments,” and “General Terms,” are other sites.google pages, probably from other Google accounts.
A lot of people don’t even notice the URL, though. That’s fine, but – the text on that “home page” talks about buying and selling domain names. What does that have to do with a vehicle sale?
I opened each link in a separate tab and checked out those pages. Here’s what’s on the “How It Works” page (italics are mine):
1. Buyer and Seller Agree to Terms
- Both parties agree to terms, which includes a description of the vehicle, sale price and number of days for the Buyers inspection.
3. Seller Ships Merchandise
- Amazon Payments verifies that the Buyer receives the shipment.
- The inspection period will begins when the vehicle is delivered.
5. Amazon Payments Pays the Seller
- Amazon Payments pays the Seller after all conditions of the transaction are met
2. Buyer Pays Amazon Payments
- When payment is received, it will be verified and secured into a non-interest bearing trust account until the Buyer inspects the vehicle.
4. Buyer Accepts the Merchandise
- The Buyer has a 5 days for an inspection and the option to accept or reject the merchandise. For more information, read ourĀ General Terms and Conditions Page.
This was a straight copy-and-paste: I didn’t change anything. Notice how the steps are out of order? Would a huge company like Amazon put up a page like that? It sure doesn’t look professional to me.
Even if you read them in order, anyone who’s received a scam email claiming to use eBay, Google Checkout, or AutoTrader will recognize this process. It’s the same nonsense used for those scams.
But I was especially interested in the “Payments” page. Here’s another copy-and-paste (italics and color highlighting are mine):
Credit Card
We currently accept American Express, Master Card, Amazon Payments. Credit card payments are protected via SSL to encrypt your information when you send it to us.
Please note that for transactions higher than $5,000, credit card is not acceptable, you must transfer the money by bank wire from your account to Amazon Payments account.
Check or Money Order
Money orders and check payments are only accepted when drawn on a US bank, have a limit of $2,000, and are subject to a 10 days bank hold.
We do not accept checks drawn on a credit card.
So – if you’re paying more than $2,000 you can’t use a check or money order and if you’re paying more than $5,000 you have to pay by wire transfer. I noticed that the car in the original Craigslist ad (which is still up) is selling for $13,000. Which means the only way to pay for it is with a wire transfer.
But what if you’re buying a vehicle that’s only $1,800? According to these rules you could send a check or money order for that. But – money orders and checks have to be from a bank in the US. And this ad is on Craigslist Montreal – in Canada. Another reason to use wire transfer.
None of which goes with the way I would think Amazon operates. It’s a big online company which sells around the world. Surely it accepts credit card payments – for any amount.
On the “Contact Us” page there are two email addresses. I tried pulling up the main site associated with those addresses. My browser couldn’t find that URL, either with or without “www” at the beginning. But according to whois.com it is registered to someone with an ordinary street address and apartment # in a US city.
Bottom line – these pages are all forgeries. At first glance they look really good. But when you look a little closer the discrepancies become obvious. The weird URLs, the limited payment options, the editing issues (steps 1-3-5-2-4?) – they’re all red flags.
It didn’t seem like a good idea to include the actual URLs being used in this scam; besides, I’ve reported them to Google’s abuse department so they may not still be up when you read this. But I’ve included a screenshot of the Payments page just to give you an idea of what I’ve been describing here. Scammers do move around a lot on the ‘net; it’s possible you may see this somewhere else.
Scam reported at FightTheScams.com

tpower says:
Hello was this a Motorhome located in Yellowknife?I am looking at buying it but it just doesn’t sound right!Thanks!
March 5th, 2012 at 11:51 am
PrudentCanadian22 says:
I have a similar case, also a vehicle and also from Yukon trying to get payment from an amazon payment link… in my case it is for a Harley bike nicely priced on KIJIJI a popular buy-sell web site in Canada. The adress provided on the seller ad was in Kingston, Ontario. Here is the email I received:
Hi,
This bike has absolutely no mechanical problem,no accidents, never been down, the engine has no leaks or problems.
I am letting it go with shipping and handling included. I am selling it because I’ve relocated in Europe and it is too expensive to import it here. The unit is now in the Yukon Territories, at Amazon warehouse (crate# 459827) ready to be delivered to its buyer with all the documents.
Because I am not able to close the deal myself, I want to use a third party to handle the sale. This way we are both protected.
Let me know if you’re interested and if you have questions.
Thanks,
Aldin
The price is $7,815 with shipping included.
I want to use as a third party Amazon Payments ( visit their website: Amazon Payments ). You will have to make the payment to Amazon Payments. The shipping will be started in 24 hours after your payment is confirmed. The bike will be delivered in 3 or 4 days. From the moment it arrives at your door, you will have 5 days to test and inspect it. If it doesn’t match my description or if you find anything wrong with it, Amazon Payments will refund your money in 3 working days and I will be in charge of the return shipping fee. They will hold the money until you confirm that the bike is as expected.
This way we are both protected. I am sure that you have the funds to buy it and you can verify that the bike is as advertised knowing that a 3rd party has the payment secured.
In order to start the transaction, please go on Amazon Payments, register with your info and once you do that, Amazon Payments will send you the invoice with all the payment and shipping details.
Thanks
Aldin
March 25th, 2012 at 4:50 pm
Gregg Ross says:
Excellent info – looked at a “Yukon” Honda Valkyrie advertized by Aldin on Kijiji who claimed to have moved to Europe – familiar. The wording on the reply re the bike’s condition was exactly the same for a different bike all together. When I read more detail on the Amazon Payments site the issue became sketchier (word?) You have a great site hear, was easy to find and helped save my time.
Cheers
March 30th, 2012 at 6:17 am