Sign up to post  |  Login

Sellmycar.com Scam

I found 3 or 4 REALLY good deals on a couple of cars at sellmycar.com. I have received the same email from people using different names asking me to use Ebay vehicle protection program to have the car shipped to me. They post that they are located in my area and then the email says they are on the other side of the country. Just for fun I emailed them and told them I would be vactioning in their area and would like to meet up and give them the money in person. We will see how they respond. I just find it funny because they use different names but the wording in the emails is almost exactly the same. The following is the email I was sent:

Hello,

Thanks for your inquiry regarding my vehicle, hope you’re still interested since it has never been wrecked or damaged, excellent condition, it doesn’t have any dents or scratches, accident-free and has a clean and clear Title. I’m located in Denver, CO and the total price for this car is $4,850.00 US including shipping at your address. I would like to use eBay Vehicle Protection Program to handle this transaction for our both safety and comfort (they take care of the shipping, documents and payment).

If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address and I will open a case and eBay will contact you with all the information about our deal.

Thank you
Julie
(julie.taylor245@hotmail.com)

Scam reported at FightTheScams.com


3 Comments on “Sellmycar.com Scam”

  1. Tristan says:

    Had to reply to this post because a very similar thing happened to me. When I went to the SellMyCar site and attempted to fill out the “Contact Us” form the “submit” button was disabled. Guess they have no interest in responding to complaints regarding suspicion of fraud.

    Here is the text of the e-mail I attempted to send to them:
    _____________________________________________________

    “Please investigate:

    Three different ads for the same model & make of car, same year, same price, same mileage and same picture, but at three different locations:

    1) http://www.sellmycar.com/252807564.htm?zipcode=02482

    2) http://www.sellmycar.com/252807193.htm?zipcode=02482

    3) http://sellmycar.com/252531059.htm

    I responded to the first ad, the car located in Providence, and received the following reply:

    ‘RE: Sellmycar.com ad- 2006 Honda CR-V EX SE FWD/AUTOMATICþ/ VIN: JHLRD78986C048668

    Hi there,

    Thanks for your inquiry regarding my vehicle, hope you’re still interested since it has never been wrecked or damaged, excellent condition, it doesn’t have any dents or scratches, accident-free and has a clean and clear Title. You should know that all the service and maintenance records are available and up to date, fluids have been recently replaced. I’m selling so cheap due to the fact that I am about to leave US since my medical team will be redeployed in Afghanistan, therefore I need a fast and reliable deal as I won’t let it go old in my backyard. My price is $5,300.00 USD, shipping included. The vehicle is currently in Decatur, GA (where I just arrived with some work for a little while) and will be shipped for a 7 days inspection period without any problems, shipping period – 48-72 hrs. I will sell it through eBay Escrow Service. Please provide the buyer’s name and shipping address in order to receive all the information about this possible purchase.

    In order to locate the vehicle again please visit URL:

    sellmycar.com/252531059.htm

    Take care.

    Shirley’

    I didn’t reply because I smelled a con. Providence, RI is close enough to go look at the car but Georgia is out of the question. I have no intention of buying a car sight unseen.

    By the way, I googled SellMyCar.com and found an entire page of links devoted to scams at your web site. Unless your entire site itself is run by a bunch of con artists it may be time to do some house cleaning.”
    _____________________________________________________

  2. Kimmy77 says:

    I got the same exact email saying he was leaving for 3-4 years on medical team in afganistan and didnt want to leave car to go bad in back yard. What an awful way to take someones money to make them think they are getting a car for a good price only to be scammed.. People work hard for their money and obviously dont want or either cant afford to go put huge down payment and make payments on a car. I hope whoever is behind this scam gets exactly what they deserve

  3. dbzgokku says:

    Wow, I receive the similar E-mail response in a car I had felt in love with lucky for me I decide to read this posts from this page, this is what I receive I even check the car record with the vim# they provided me
    Hi there,

    Thanks for your inquiry regarding my vehicle. I hope you’re still interested since it has never been wrecked or damaged, excellent condition, it doesn’t have any dents or scratches, accident-free and has a clean and clear Title. All the service and maintenance records are available and up to date, fluids have been recently replaced. I’m selling so cheap due to the fact that my medical team was ordered to go back to Afghanistan on March 25th for a 3 years contract and I won’t let it go waste in my backyard, therefore I need a fast and reliable deal. My price is $3,900.00 (FIRM), shipping included.
    The financial part of this sale will be managed by the eBay’s Buyer Protection Program for our both safety and confort (they take care of the shipping, documents and payment). The vehicle is currently at the eBay headquarter in San Jose, CA (where I had it inspected before sale) and will be shipped to the buyer’s address for a 7 days inspection period (shipping 48-72 hrs).
    For further information please provide me the buyer’s name and shipping address, I’ll open a temporary case and the company will contact you with all the information about this possible purchase.

    A few words about the car:
    - 2005 FORD EXPLORER EDDIE BAUER
    - Mileage: 64,000
    - Transmission: Automatic
    - Exterior color: Black
    - Interior color: Tan Leather
    - Engine: 4.6L V8 FI
    - VIN# 1FMDU74W85ZA45327

    Best Regards,
    Senior Medic Sgt. 1st Class Gregory Mitchell

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.