Sign up to post  |  Login

Possible scams – several overseas companies selling electronics

These ads started showing up on Craigslist today. The ads have some classic scam components – really low prices, no phone number, generic email address (msn, hotmail, yahoo), and an ad that is an image file (which means you can’t search for text to find other ads by the same company). But there are websites:

www.gain-buy.com

www.excitedeal.com

www.eleccentre.com

www.cheer-sale.com

www.handygains.com

www.leadersale.com

www.electalk.com

I checked out each of these sites. They are all set up the same way, and the payment options are the same – Moneygram, Western Union, and wire transfers to banks in China (all of which CL warns against). They don’t take credit cards and they don’t like PayPal because they say the fees are too high. And they stored cookies on my computer (which I have now erased).

The first ad I found was for a MacBook Pro for about $350 – which is about 1/4 of what it should cost. I did a Google search for the company and found a discussion here:

http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?s=2dea270d4d2f31ca87c2c9ea733f2238&p=972074#post972074

The one person who posted on this thread who actually ordered from them had not received his items as of when I checked the thread.

This looks like a major scam, folks. Please be careful. And if you come across any more sites like these, please post them here.

Thanks.

Scam reported at FightTheScams.com


No Comments on “Possible scams – several overseas companies selling electronics”

No one has commented on this entry yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.