On Craigslist I saw a 2002 Honda Civic LX Sedan that was priced at 2,800. Right away I knew it was too good to be true, so I sent her an email for more information and she told me that this was her son’s car and he passed away so she wanted to sell it fast and for cheap just to get rid of it. Then she mentioned that she wanted to sell through ebay’s Vehicle Protection Program which sounded quite fishy. I would never buy a car without seeing and test driving it first. The add was in my area so I asked If I could come and see it. She and her husband our gone a lot for their business. However she failed to mention that the car is in Georgia, and she posted it in Washington. Apparently her husband thought it would be a good idea to post in several area’s to sell the car quicker. I didn’t fall for this scam, and I hope no one else does either. this is her e-mail and the link to her post on Craigslist janetandpeterwalter@hotmail.com
http://bellingham.craigslist.org/cto/1932366328.html
Scam reported at FightTheScams.com
PhoenixMylene says:
She tried to scam me today too! She posted in in the south jersey forum.
She gave me the same sob story about her dead son, which is sick, I have a 2 month old son, and I couldn’t imagine lying to someone about the death of a child.
Her First email said:
Hello,
The car it’s still available, has 75,888 miles, automatic transmission. It’s in perfect condition, no engine/electric problems, no accidents/liens/loans. Exterior no scratches, never been repainted, interior no rips/tears/stains, never smoked inside. I have all the car’s manuals, 2 spare of keys, title,documents. I’m selling the car because my child of only 19 died 4 months ago in a car accident, a drunk driver hit him and his fiancee. He was with his fiance’s car coming to our home at his little brother birthday of 10 years old. This Honda Civic was his car and it brings me bad memories and that’s the reason I want to sell it. The last price is $2,800.
Me and my husband travel a lot with our business and we want to make this deal through eBay’s Vehicle Purchase Protection Program. I just need your full name, full shipping address, home/cell # so I can open a case (with no further obligation or fees). eBay will contact you with all the Transaction/shipping details you will need. We will take care of the shipping, so don’t worry.
We hope to hear soon from you.
For more pictures here is a link to the car’s photo gallery:
http://s971.photobucket.com/albums/ae194/2002-Honda-Civic-LX-Sedan-1/
Thank you for your interest!
Janet and Peter Walter
then the second said:
Hello again ,
Thank you so much for your kind thoughts…We are located in Morrow, Georgia right now and the car is here with us at DAS ( Dependable Auto Shippers ) headquarters, in the container, sealed and ready for shipping. Me and my husband decided to post the car on several cities so we can sell it faster. I’m under eBay’s Vehicle Purchase Protection Program and they work like this:
– You will have the car for 10 days to test drive it, inspect it, go with the car to a mechanical, etc.
– Only after those 10 days you will have to decide if you want to keep the car or not! If you don’t like the car or the car is not what I’ve described to you, you will be fully refunded by eBay in max. 6 hours.
– An Agent from eBay will assist you during this period (time for 10 days) with all that you need.
– The shipping will be made by DAS-Auto Shippers in a sealed container with their program of 2 days door-to-door.
– You will receive the car with all the papers including clean title, bill of sale, spare keys & all the paper work.
– After I will register you as my client, they will contact you by e-mail and also by phone with all the information that you need!
So please let me know if you would like to register you as my client and start the process asap!If so please just get back with your full name and full shipping address and I will get everything started as soon as possible, then eBay will contact you with more further instructions.
Hope to hear soon from you.
Very respectfully,
Janet and Peter Walter
ugh. Its just a shame, she just reposted the ad again today, I really hope no one falls for it.
September 4th, 2010 at 5:33 pm
nannabel says:
Those are the exact same emails she sent to me too. It’s a sad world when people have to resort to taking advatage of others in such a way, especially playing the sob card to get what they want, which is innocent people’s money!
September 6th, 2010 at 1:55 pm