Sign up to post  |  Login

Craigslist – beware of sara.parker@msn.com

I’ve been searching for a used suv on craigslist for a few weeks now and have answered quite a few ads. I recently responded to an ad that did not have a craigslist email ID listed. Maybe that should have been a red flag. It directed to respond to a sara.parker@msn.com email ID. I then email her and received this ‘sob story’ email response.
“Hi,

The car has 81,600 miles,automatic trans,1owner.It’s in perfect condition,no engine/electric problems,no accidents/liens/loans.Exterior no scratches,never been repainted,Interior no rips/tears/stains,never smoked inside.I have all the car’s manuals,2 spare of keys,title,documents.I’m selling the car because my child of only 24 died 4 months ago in a car accident,a drunk driver hit him and his fiancee.He was with his fiance’s car coming to our home at his little brother birthday of 10 years old.This 1999 Ford Explorer 4×4 XLS was his car and it brings me bad memories and that’s the reason I want to sell it.The last price is $2,000.
Me and my husband travel a lot with our business and we want to make this deal through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program.I just need your full name,full shipping address, home/cell # so I can open a case.(with no further obligation or fees).eBay will contact you with all the Transaction/shipping details you will need.We will take care of the shipping so don’t worry.
We hope to hear soon from you.

For more pictures here is a link to the car’s photo gallery:

http://s789.photobucket.com/albums/yy174/galery-photos/

Thank you for your interest!
Sara and Walter Parker

I would have actually believed the story except when she offered free shipping on a car. Who would do that? Besides, craigslist has a warning on their classified page that shipping can be fraudulent. I then googled ‘craigslist ebay buyer protection’ and found this site. Thank you – my suspicions were confirmed.

Scam reported at FightTheScams.com


One Comment on “Craigslist – beware of sara.parker@msn.com”

  1. rarnest says:

    I found the same ad and replied .. she never contacted me with any information, bogus or not.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.