Sign up to post  |  Login

Car Scam on Craigslist

Here’s an e-mail I received yesterday from helenbullock66@hotmail.com after expressing interest in her ad posted on Craigslist.com, regarding a 2005 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL:

Hello,
I have received your email regarding the 2005 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL with only 52,460 miles.The car is in perfect condition,with no scratches on it,no damage, clear title.The price for the car is $3,300 with shipping included.The car was my husband`s as he loved it very much, but he did not enjoy it as he died in a IRAQ 3 month ago. It brings very bad memories to me, I want to get rid of it.The buyer will receive the car with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it to his name.Shipping will be done whit DAS and it will take no more then 2-3 days. I have a friend there who will manage me a low price shipping and I assumed that it is my duty to pay for shipping it.It will be delivered directly to your address.Anyway, I have to let you know that I want a fast deal so if you are really interested in buying it,please reply with the following information’s:
-Your full name;
-Your shipping address.(street,city,state,zip code)
The transaction will close only through eBay so we both will be protected.
I want eBay because as they are the biggest company on the internet I think that we can close this deal fast and safe for both of us. Also I am not very familiar with the internet transactions and eBay is the only one I know.I will look for your email,so that we can move forward with this deal!
Let me know.
Regards,
Helen Bullock

Scam reported at FightTheScams.com


5 Comments on “Car Scam on Craigslist”

  1. hype2120 says:

    I am furious about scams BUT i am even more angry that the scammers are impersonating military personnel and/or their families. I cannot understand why more people are not flagging these scams on craigslist. We must flag them to get them removed.

  2. buckofama says:

    I also got an email reply to the posting on craigslist that quickly vanishes…. It was from helenbullock66@hotmail.com…..

    Here’s the text that’s nearly identical to yours….I wonder if it’s cut & paste or if they wrote a program….

    Hello,

    I have received your email regarding the 2005 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL with only 52,460 miles.The car is in perfect condition,with no scratches on it,no damage, clear title.The price for the car is $3,300 with shipping included.The car was my husband`s as he loved it very much, but he did not enjoy it as he died in a IRAQ 3 month ago. It brings very bad memories to me, I want to get rid of it.The buyer will receive the car with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it to his name.Shipping will be done whit DAS and it will take no more then 2-3 days. I have a friend there who will manage me a low price shipping and I assumed that it is my duty to pay for shipping it.It will be delivered directly to your address.Anyway, I have to let you know that I want a fast deal so if you are really interested in buying it,please reply with the following information’s:
    -Your full name;
    -Your shipping address.(street,city,state,zip code)
    The transaction will close only through eBay so we both will be protected.
    I want eBay because as they are the biggest company on the internet I think that we can close this deal fast and safe for both of us. Also I am not very familiar with the internet transactions and eBay is the only one I know.I will look for your email,so that we can move forward with this deal!
    Let me know.
    Regards,
    Helen Bullock

  3. buckofama says:

    Here’s the relevant header
    X-Originating-IP: [72.229.228.16]

    The scammer looks to be a road runner customer in astoria, ny…..Queens/NYC

  4. jubilant2328 says:

    I too almost fell for this scam. I sent her my name and address but did not go any farther than that. I hope that by giving that information, I won’t still be at risk will I? I know, I’m a gullible person and now I’m worried that by giving out that information I will be screwed over. Any advice?

  5. katcotton says:

    im am working with this person write now on craigslist!!! they just emailed me this evening with the info. everything is identical except the cost is $200 less!!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.