Diana stevens Nissan Maxima 2004 SCAM
I’ve recently looked on craig’s list for a Nissan Maxima and came across this ad for 3700 for a 2004 Nissan Maxima. Immediately I responded to the ad asking the “owner” for further details on the car. This woman “Diana Stevens” emailed me back this:
Hello,I have received your email regarding the 2004 Nissan Maxima SE with only 95,000 miles.The car is in perfect condition,with no scratches on it,no damage, clear title.The price for the car is $3,700 with shipping included.The car was my husband`s as he loved it very much, but he did not enjoy it as he died in a IRAQ 3 month ago. It brings very bad memories to me, I want to get rid of it.The buyer will receive the car with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it to his name.Shipping will be done whit DAS and it will take no more then 2-3 days. I have a friend there who will manage me a low price shipping and I assumed that it is my duty to pay for shipping it.It will be delivered directly to your address.Anyway, I have to let you know that I want a fast deal so if you are really interested in buying it,please reply with the following information’s:-Your full name;-Your shipping address.(street,city,state,zip code)The transaction will close only through eBay so we both will be protected.I want eBay because as they are the biggest company on the internet I think that we can close this deal fast and safe for both of us. Also I am not very familiar with the internet transactions and eBay is the only one I know.I will look for your email,so that we can move forward with this deal!Let me know.Regards,Diana Steven
I replied asking to see the car in person because I lived in Jersey and the car was supposedly in NY. She replied:
Hello again,The car is located in San Antonio,TX at the shipping company (i just moved here with my new job),like i told we will use eBay Vehicle Purchase Protection,so we can both be protected and insured.The price for the car is $3,700 with shipping I
ncluded. I just need your full name and full address so eBay can send you the invoice in which you`ll see how
to make this transaction.The shipping is free i will take care of it and i will send the car with all the papers( vehicle registration, warranty papers,transfer papers etc ) i am just waiting your full name and address to complete the shipping papers and start the delivery process.Regards,Diana StevensP.S I attached you some pictures with the car,http://s927.photobucket.com/albums/ad120/dianastevens73125/ Vehicle Description:This car is in great shape and truely one of a kind.It has always been maintained and taken care of.Only full synthetic oils and premium gasoline.The interior is also Very nice and Clean!These are great cars and this one will give many years of reliable service. And super gas mileage !! Tires and brakes are excellent. It has just been inspected..all is fine.No dents and scratches, paint has a very nice finish to it. Interior is clean with no funny odors or smells.Owned by a non-Smoker. Fully loaded, Very clean, Looks and runs great, Mostly highway miles, Power everything, Non-smoker, One owner, Upgraded sound system, Very clean interior, Well maintained.Mileage: 95,000 milesTitle: ClearFeaturesBody type: Sedan Engine: 6 Cylinder 3.5 Liter Exterior color: BlueTransmission: Automatic Fuel type: Gasoline
I decided to do some digging and came across this website with a person having the same exact story but wit a different car and name . BEWARE!
Scam reported at FightTheScams.com
snavelz says:
This “2004 Nissan Maxima For Cheap” is definitely a scam. Here in Orange County, CA I came across an ad on Craigslist for a 2004 Nissan Altima being sold for only $2,850 by Ema Lawson. Below is the response I got from her.
Hi,
My name is Ema Lawson , I’m emailing you regarding the 2004 Nissan Maxima SL Elite Package that I have for sale. The car is in perfect
condition, with no need for additional repairs, no scratches, dings, special marks whatsoever, never been involved in any accidents. The
interior looks great (smoke-free). It has 127,500 miles, automatic transmission , 6 Cyl 3.5 L engine size , white exterior and tan
interior . It has a clear title with no loans or liens on it. I’m selling the car because my 21′s years old son died 2 months ago in a
car accident. A drunk driver hit him and his fiancee. He was with his fiancee’s car coming to our home at his little brother birthday.
It was his car and it brings me bad memories and that’s the reason I want to sell it as soon as possible. The price that I’m asking is
$2,830.00
Here are the pictures with the car : http://img571.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=52535473.jpg
I can provide VIN # to check on your own, also I can send you more details too . Just let me know if you are still interested and where
are you located .
Thank you,
Ema
BEWARE! This Is A TOTAL Scam!
August 16th, 2010 at 9:46 am
dakokoda says:
I got one too, and if my mom was not a cop and knew what to look for i would have fell for it.
This is what ‘Deborah’ said:
Hello,
Sorry for this late reply, the car is still for sale if you want to buy it. My name is Deborah Kane and I am the legal owner of the 2004 Nissan Maxima SE (6 – Cyl. Cylinder, manual transmission). I would like to tell you that the car is in perfect condition, never wrecked, never involved in an accident, clean and clear title, certified and e-tested with only 95141 kilometers. This car is in excellent running condition with no issue. I have all the documents, manuals, service records and I decided to sell it for $1950. The buyer will receive it with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it so if you buy it you don’t have to worry about the paperwork. Also you will have 5 days to test and inspect the car once is delivered at your address.
I am in possession of this car from my husband who unfortunately can’t enjoy it anymore as he died. I moved back where I was born in Whitehorse, Yukon and now it will be shipped from here. Please get back for more info if you are interested to buy it.
Thank you,
Deborah
i emailed her back asking about shipping and handling and ‘she proceeded to say:
The car is located in Whitehorse, Yukon as I told in my first email but my brother-in-law will use his discount to help me with shipping. I will have to pay a small amount for it. He own a business with sewing machines and he is using the shipping company from 3 years. The total amount that you will have to pay for it will be $1900 as this is the price that I expect to sell.
The inspection period will be set to 5 days and I think is enough for you to make a decision about the car. I also want to inform you that I am entertaining another 2 offers for it at this moment so please let me know your decision as soon as possible to know what to do. One of them is waiting for a loan and will get in touch with me tomorrow if he can buy it or not and the other one have only $1700 to buy it.
after a few more questions she replied:
The price is firm $1900 even you come to pick it up even you want it shipped. I think is more then fair that you pay $1900 as shipping is my responsibility. We will use Amazon Payments Program in this transaction for our protection. You should know that it will allow you to test drive and inspect the car for a period of time that we agree on (in our case 5 days) before paying me. I only need your full name and address so I can open a case and you will receive all the details from Amazon.
You will have a 5-days inspection period to decide whether you want to keep the car or not before they release me the funds. I think 5 days is enough for you to make a decision if you keep the car or not. If you wont like my car then you notify Amazon and send it back on my cost.
February 13th, 2012 at 12:53 am
lishus says:
hello i just recently found one of these scams also i was wondering what happens if i gave them my name and address? what will they do with that?
February 24th, 2012 at 2:48 pm
Corey says:
lishus: Nothing. They are only interested in people who will wire them money.
February 24th, 2012 at 3:06 pm