Sign up to post  |  Login

Scam from craigslist for a car for sale

fromPamela Kellerman <pamela.kellerman@gmail.com>

subjectRe: 2006 Honda Accord EX $2,900
signed-bygmail.com
Hello ,

Thanks for being interested in buying my 2006 Honda Accord EX ,automatic transmission,white,VIN # 1HGCM56866A170525.Only 55,350 miles, beautiful condition in and out. Paint shines ,zero dings/dents,no accident. Non-smoker,always garaged and covered. It comes with all the documents needed for registration and clear title.The main reason of selling my vehicle for this price is that I have to urgently pay the mortgage that I have on my new house so I’m looking for a fast sale.Before we proceed with any arrangements I must ask you to confirm that you have a real interest in this vehicle and the necessary funds to make this purchase readily available.
The price that I’m asking for the vehicle is US $ 2,900, this price includes the door to door shipping, handling and insurance fees for shipping within the continental US. I’m located in Fairfax,VA and the vehicle will be shipped from here.
I want to take this opportunity to assure you that this deal is 100% legitimate,the financial part of this deal will be manage by a third party.So if you decide to buy my vehicle or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.
I look forward to hear back from you soon.
Thank you and have a great day,

    Pamela Kellerman

Scam reported at FightTheScams.com


6 Comments on “Scam from craigslist for a car for sale”

  1. dtc.skillz@gmail.com says:

    So, can we do anything about this? A friend of mine just was about to pay for that car until I found this post. Dont trust this at all.

  2. dtc.skillz@gmail.com says:

    Actually. Here’s what she replied with when we told her we wanted to come pick the car up in person and drive it home cash in hand.

    Once again, thanks for the heads up. Be Aware

  3. dtc.skillz@gmail.com says:

    Actually. Here’s what she replied with when we told her we wanted to come pick the car up in person and drive it home cash in hand.

    “Hello again,

    The vehicle is still available for sale and the asking price is US $ 2,900.The price includes the shipping and delivery charges to your home address.The transaction will be fully under eBay’s surveillance, giving us both security and insurance that nothing will go wrong. They will be the 3rd, objective party involved in the transaction. This way you will actually pay for the vehicle after you will receive and test it, because eBay will hold the funds and release it to me only after you accept and confirm the delivery.After the vehicle reaches your address you will have 5 days to test it. Within this period you have to decide if you purchase it or not. If you decide to take it you will have to contact eBay and let them know that, so they can release the payment to me. If you won’t like it you will have to ship it back to me within the 5 days and eBay will refund you. The shipping back will be done on my own expense, but I am sure this will not be the case.
    If you decide to buy the vehicle please provide me me your full name and the address where you want the vehicle to be delivered and I will initiate the transaction with eBay. You will receive all the transaction details from them.
    Looking forward to doing business!
    Regards,

    Pamela”

    Once again, thanks for the heads up. Be Aware

  4. alf1230 says:

    I emailed about the car, and replied with the following…

    “Oh what luck! I’m in Fairfax all this week, email me the address and I’ll come and pick it up tomorrow!”

    After that. I never got an email back.

  5. MsLoveMe27 says:

    Thanks for being interested in buying my 2006 Honda Accord EX ,automatic transmission,white,VIN # 1HGCM66596A028844.Only 19,900 miles, beautiful condition in and out. Paint shines ,zero dings/dents,no accident. Non-smoker,always garaged and covered. It comes with all the documents needed for registration and clear title.
    The vehicle is located in Philadelphia,PA and will be shipped from here.The price that I’m asking for the vehicle is US $ 2,900.
    I have recently moved to Portugal with my job and my family. I was hoping to take the vehicle here but when I found out how much shipping and registration would be I’ve changed my mind. I want to sell it in US because is located and still registered there.
    I want to take this opportunity to assure you that this deal is 100% legitimate,the financial part of this deal will be manage by a third party.So if you decide to buy my vehicle or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.
    I look forward to hear back from you soon.
    Thank you and have a great day,

    Pamela Kellerman

    I ALMOST FELL FOR THIS SCAM TOO UNTIL I WANTED TO GO BACK AND LOOK AT THE CAR AGAIN AND IT WAS REMOVED FROM CRAIGSLIST. I GOOGLED IT TO SEE IF SHE PLACED THE AD SOMEWHERE ELSE AND THIS SITE POPPED UP. I WASN’T GOING TO SEND MY MONEY UNLESS I GOT THE CAR ANYWAY BUT IT HELPED ME TO STOP WASTING MY TIME WITH THIS PERSON. I ALSO HAD ANOTHER PROSPECTIVE SELLER WHO IS A SCAMMER WITH THE SAME KIND OF EMAIL…SO CALLED EBAY PROTECTION. I’M GOING TO POST IT ON HERE.

  6. poketz808 says:

    Luckily I looked up “craigslist scams” and found this website! The post above looks SO crazily similar…
    Here’s my scamming story:

    Hello ,

    Thanks for being interested in buying my 2006 Honda Accord EX ,automatic transmission,white,VIN # 1HGCM66546A034647.Only 19,007 miles, beautiful condition in and out. Paint shines ,zero dings/dents,no accident. Non-smoker,always garaged and covered. It comes with all the documents needed for registration and clear title.
    The vehicle is located in Columbia,SC and will be shipped from there.The price that I’m asking for the vehicle is US $ 2,900.
    I have recently moved to Portugal with my job and my family. I was hoping to take the vehicle here but when I found out how much shipping and registration would be I’ve changed my mind. I want to sell it in US because is located and still registered there.
    I want to take this opportunity to assure you that this deal is 100% legitimate,the financial part of this deal will be manage by a third party.So if you decide to buy my vehicle or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.
    I look forward to hear back from you soon.
    Thank you and have a great day,

    Pamela Williams

    (wow! Even using the same name “Pamela” and moving destination “Portugal”) *how charming* ;0/

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.