This is a scam. Ebay does not handle your funds or ship things for you. That is why they have paypal other means of payments and the shipping is worked out between seller and buyer, not ebay. I almost fell for this thinking it was a new program ebay had, but like they say, if something seems too good to be true, it usually is, and a $11,000.00 car for $2,800?? and you send the money to a trust fund? all of the sudden their great email correspondences have incorrect grammar?and they will not give you any means to verify it is a real deal? and when you tell them you are not sending it without verification all of the sudden you no longer hear from them??? and then you find a website like this one that has the EXACT same wording that has scammed other people? Well, live and learn it is a SCAM!!!
here’s the emails I recieved:
Last email ( after I demanded a way to verify it was a legitimate sale )
Here is how it works:
1. First of all I will need the following details from you: full
name, shipping address and telephone number.
2. After I will receive the details from you, I will forward them to eBay.
3. After they will process your info, they will send us both invoices
(email forms).
4. After you will make the payment in an eBay trust fund account and
confirm it to them they will contact me and I will ship the car to
you. The shipping will take 2 days. I will pay for it. After you
receive the car you will have 3 days to test, verify and do whatever
you need to the car. If you will buy, then I will receive the payment
details from eBay so that I can pick up the money.
5. If the car is not as I told you or have some problems, or is not as
described, they will refund you 100%. There is no risk in this deal. I
don’t touch your money until you receive and inspect the car. The
transaction is simple so everything should go as planed. If you will
decide that you will not buy the car there will be no need to ship it
back because I will surely find a buyer in your area.
Thanks in advance!
First email (When I initially asked about the car)
Thanks for replying to my ad. I want you to know the car is in excellent condition with no rust or any kind of damage anywhere and it doesn’t need any maintenance. The odometer shows 41937 miles. I can provide you an Autocheck report for the car. Title is clear and free of liens. This 2005 Honda Civic LX has an automatic transmission and it’s very easy to drive even for a beginner.
My price is $2800. I am now in a divorce with my ex and i am in desperate need of money to pay the mortgage on my house. That’s my only reason for selling it otherwise I wouldn’t do it.
The deal will be handled by eBay trough their eBay Vehicle Purchase Program . They will handle the title and money transfer and deliver the car to your location. The car is at their office in Atlanta GA.
The best part about this is that you’ll get 3 days money back guarantee. If at the end of those 3 days you decide not to keep it you’ll get a full refund by them. If you want the Civic and if you have the money available all you have to do now is to send me your full name and your address. As soon as I hear that from you I will initiate the transaction through them.
The process is very simple and risk free for both of us.
All the pictures can be seen here: http://s570.photobucket.com/albums….. ( I deleted the rest of this because I didn’t know what I could legally post.)
The name of the seller was : Cathy Mayers
as they say… buyer beware!! and if it seems too good to be true, it usually is! Check it out first!
Scam reported at FightTheScams.com
bestsofar says:
Thank You so much for posting! I just inquired about this exact car on Craigslist. Same seller Cathy Mayers exact email response about her divorce. I assume this posting is on an auto reply or something. I flagged the ad on craigslist. I don’t know if they will take it down. I am so glad I took a minute to research this ” ebay vehicle purchase program ” which lead me here and I get to keep my $2800!!!!
August 28th, 2009 at 11:43 am
maureen says:
Sept. 2, 2009 – reporting this scam found last night on ebay.
Beware of this email address! thomasmardem5@gmail.com
Hello,
I’m SGT Thomas Mardem. This 2005 Honda Accord EX-L is in perfect working condition.
This vehicle engine runs very, very smooth. No electrical or
mechanical problems on this beauty. This detailed vehicle makes the
exterior looks like it just came off the assembly line. The car has
63,500 miles.
As I know that my current situation is pretty special I want the deal
closed only through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program in order for you
to be 100% protected. You will make the payment to eBay and they will
hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the
car and you inspect it (for 15 days) eBay will send the money to me; in
this way we are both protected. If the car is not suitable for you
from any reason, your money will be fully refundable and I will take
the car back on my expenses. I’m sure it won’t be the case because it’s a state of
art looking and working vehicle. I am located in Canada and I was sent
here with my department. One week ago my wife moved here with me and
brought the car with her, but now we have to sell it back in the
US because we can’t register it here; it has US specs and
everything, and registering it here in Canada will take forever. My
final price on it is $2,800 USD. If you will take it for this price, I
am willing to handle the shipping. It will be shipped from here by
plane with US Air Military Cargo so it will not cost me anything. You
will get it to your address.
Click on the link below for more pics & info about the car:
http://2005accord.page.tl/
Please get back to me asap if you want to move forward, and include in
your e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I
can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction,
payment and shipping details from them.
Best Regards,
Thomas and Rachel Mardem
September 2nd, 2009 at 9:36 am
bandit1581 says:
Thank you so much! My husband almost just fell for the exact deal, until I showed him this!
September 2nd, 2009 at 7:09 pm
rebecca7500 says:
We almost fell for it too! Of course it is too good to be true. These people need to be brought down.
September 11th, 2009 at 3:36 pm
mila says:
We recently inquired about a 2004 Volkswagen Passat 4Motion – $4800 on craigslist from seller Doug Gravessen / doug.gravessen@companymilus.net.
I asked about mileage on the vehicle and this is the email I received :
Hi,
I am selling this car because I am being dispatched to the Gulf of Aden.
I will be there for more than a year. I’ve cut the price because I must sell before September 30th.
The car is in great condition, no rust, no scratches, no electrical or mechanical problems. I have a clean title ready to be signed.
It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad .
The car is in the Montana area, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.
Let me know if you are interested, email back.
2004 Volkswagen Passat 4Motion
VIN: WVWTH63BX4P248808
Mileage: 60,262 miles
Body type: Sedan
Engine: 2.8L V6 FI DOHC 30V
Exterior color: Black
Interior color: Anthracite Leather Interior
Transmission: Automatic
Fuel type: Gasoline
Wheel Drive: All Wheel Drive
I expressed interest & this was 2nd reply:
His reply:
I am sorry, but as I told you I am not at home, I am stuck here in a military base for my physicals and I cannot receive calls nor leave, hope you understand the situation. It’s a bit hard to control this myself, that’s why I can only do this through eBay. I am tax free, that’s why I offered free shipping, all I need is an address where you want it delivered. I am a member of the eBay Buyer Protection Program and using this service you will get you a 3 days testing period after delivery. So please if interested email me your full name, address and phone number and I will ask eBay to send you an invoice regarding the terms and conditions of this transaction.
Thanks
Thanks to websites like this and people reporting these jerks I knew what to look for if it were a scam i.e ebay buyer protection program & luckily our B.S alarms have sounded loud & clear. We are going to buy locally where we can actually test drive the vehicle and have some protection. Craigslist is just too risky!
September 19th, 2009 at 3:49 pm