Sign up to post  |  Login

Scam via kevinstanfafb@gmail.com

Here's another ripe one, remarkably similar to the others I have found on Craig's List. These scammers use divorce, the army etc, to create a narrative to foster sympathy and credulity in order to rob people looking for a used car. Shameless.

The car is at MacDill AFB Tampa Bay, FL, where I am currently stationed, until April 19th, when I will be deployed to Iraq (I’m a US AirForce Lieutenant). This is why I must sell it before that date. Shipping won’t be a problem for me,being a military I have access to some special facilities. I will take care of that, with no costs on your end. It will come with all the necessary papers (clear title, bill of sale, warranty documents, user’s manual,insurance etc). The title is clear and you will be able to register the car in your state without any problems.This is a large amount and I would like to conduct the deal using an authorized third party like Ebay using their Purchase Protection Program, so this should eliminate any trust issues. They will keep a deposit until the purchase is final, and you test and accept the car. If you will not get the car as described, and also a clean title you will receive your money back.
To be able to use this program you need to qualify. I have been approved
3 years ago and I was very satisfied. So, if you are interested in buying my car just let me know your name and shipping address. I will forward these to eBay’s protection program and wait for the approval.
The ad generated a great deal of interest and people have been calling me non stop and the phone line was down for a while.

Thank you,
Lt. Kevin Stanford

Scam reported at FightTheScams.com


2 Comments on “Scam via kevinstanfafb@gmail.com”

  1. michaela617 says:

    I got one with word for word just dates and places are changed. woow.

  2. selven says:

    I found this add on autotrader:
    http://www.trader.ca/Search/Details.asp?mknm=688&Region=-1&subcategory=201&CAT=2&ADID=7639942&ADS=7639942

    This is what I got from her:
    LAURA:

    Hello,

    Sorry for the late response, but I have just arrived in Madrid, Spain. I wanted to let you know that the bmw is still available
    for $16,000+$300 shipping fees anywhere in Canada. It is in great condition
    inside, outside and mechanically, no accidents, clear title. The car is in Vancouver at the shipping
    company World Safe Shipping ( Click here to view their website World Safe Shipping).
    Let me know if you have any questions. If you are still interested please come back so I can explain you how the deal work.

    Thank you,
    Laura Cebrian

    P.S. : Here is a link with some photos:
    http://picasaweb.google.com/rt65ui/2004BMWX544iSportPackage

    AND That her second email:
    Because I’ve moved in Spain and I can’t close the deal face to face, I want to use eBay Motors VPP for this
    deal, because you will have protection up to $50,000 trough eBay Motors Vehicle Purchase Protection so, you will be 100% secured in this deal.
    I need your full name and your shipping address so I can initiate the transaction with eBay Motors. They will contact you with further details
    regarding the payment and the shipping process. You will have to make the payment into my eBay Bank Account, eBay Motors will confirm it and
    the shipping will be started. You will have 14 days for inspection from the moment the car arrives before you confirm the deal and eBay Motors
    forwards the payment to me or you cancel the deal and you will get your money back. The car will be returned free of charge. It is not a sight
    unseen deal. On the other hand I can ship the car knowing that I have the money in my eBay Bank Account and you won’t disappear with it. We are both covered.

    Sorry for the long emails I have tried to explain the entire process.

    Laura

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.